Spain, Portugal and Morocco to co-host 2030 World Cup

Spain, Portugal and Morocco to co-host 2030 World Cup

The world’s football governing body, FIFA has announced Spain, Portugal and Morocco as countries to co-host the 2030 men’s World Cup.

According to FIFA, the opening three matches will be played in South America to mark the tournament’s centenary, with the first ever World Cup held in Uruguay in 1930.

Uruguayan capital Montevideo is set to stage the opening match of the 2030 World Cup, with games in Argentina and Paraguay to follow before the 48-team tournament shifts to Africa and Europe.

FIFA president Gianni Infantino said: “The FIFA Council agreed unanimously that the only bid to host the 2030 World Cup will be the joint bid of Morocco, Portugal and Spain.

READ ALSO:FIFA U17 World Cup: Ex-Ghana captain Stephen Appiah to take part in official draw

“Two continents — Africa and Europe — united not only in a celebration of football but also in providing unique social and cultural cohesion. What a great message of peace, tolerance and inclusion.

“In 2030, we will have a unique global footprint, three continents — Africa, Europe and South America — six countries — Argentina, Morocco, Paraguay, Portugal, Spain and Uruguay — welcoming and uniting the world while celebrating together the beautiful game, the centenary and the FIFA World Cup.”

And with that plan now in place and United States, Canada and Mexico hosting the 2026 World Cup, only nations from the Asian Football Confederation and the Oceania Football Confederation will be able to bid to host the 2034 finals.

That could pave the way for Saudi Arabia, who were reportedly keen on bidding for 2030.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button